The Sport Effect

Texas Athletics Hall of Honor inducts 24 new members

Two classes of Longhorn Legends — 23 former University of Texas college student-athletes and one particular former coach  — have been inducted into the Texas Athletics Hall of Honor at an celebration on Friday, Oct. fifteen at the LBJ Auditorium and Meeting Center. The group included 10 Longhorn greats a short while ago picked for the Class of 2021 as perfectly as the 14 that have been picked for the Class of 2020 last calendar year. Due to COVID-19 protocols, Texas Athletics was not capable to honor the 2020 Hall of Honor Class in individual so that group will be honored together with the 2021 Class. The most recent Corridor of Honor members were also be acknowledged on the discipline throughout the Longhorns soccer activity with Oklahoma Condition that Saturday. 

Introduced in 2020, the 66th Men’s Hall of Honor class features: D.J. Augustin (Basketball, 2006-08), a consensus initially-team All-American and initially-team Educational All-American who gained the Bob Cousy Award as the nation’s leading level guard though guiding the Longhorns to the Elite 8 in 2007-08 Jamaal Charles (Football, 2005-07 Observe & Area, 2006-07), a 3-time All-Massive twelve selection on the gridiron and member of the 2005 Nationwide Championship team who ranks fourth on the UT all-time rushing listing (three,328 yards) and is a four-time All-American and Massive twelve 100-meter champion on the track Brad Elder(Golfing, 1995-ninety eight), a four-time All-American who gained the 1997 Fred Haskins Award as the nation’s leading collegiate golfer and led the Longhorns to a 3rd-area team complete at the 1995 NCAA Championship Jordan Shipley (Football, 2006-09), a two-time All-American who completed his job as the Longhorns’ all-time leader in receptions (248) and rated second in receiving yards (three,191) and TD catches (33) David Thomas (Football, 2002-05), a 3-time All-Massive twelve selection who completed his job as UT’s all-time leader among tight ends in receptions (ninety eight), receiving yards (1,367) and TD catches (fifteen) and a member of the 2005 Nationwide Championship team and P.J. Tucker (Basketball, 2003-06), a second-team All-American and Massive twelve Player of the Year who led the Longhorns to the Elite 8 in 2005-06. Vintage selections Glenn Blackwood (Football, 1976-78) and Rick Bradley (Baseball, 1973-75) in addition to Special Selection Tom Penders (Basketball head coach, 1988-ninety eight).

The 21st Women’s Hall of Honor announced in 2020 class features: Alexandria Anderson (Observe & Area, 2006-09), a 3-time NCAA particular person champion and twenty-time All-American who led the Longhorns to the 2006 NCAA Indoor team title Erika Hansen-Stebbins (Swimming & Diving, 1990-ninety two), a two-time U.S. Olympic team member, an NCAA particular person champion and nine-time All-American who guided UT to NCAA team titles in 1990 and 1991 Juliann Faucette Johnson(Volleyball, 2007-ten), a 3-time All-American, 2007 AVCA Nationwide Freshman of the Year and 2010 Massive twelve Player of the Year who led Texas to 3-straight NCAA Semifinals appearances Kasey Moore Powers(Soccer, 2005-08), the only 3-time United Soccer Coaches All-American in method background and a two-time Massive twelve Defensive Player ofthe Year who led the Longhorns to four NCAA Tournament appearances, a pair of Big twelve match titles and the No. 1 rating in the countrywide polls for the only time in school background and Heather (Schreiber) Stark (Basketball, 2001-05), a four-time All-Massive twelve selection and a 2004 Associated Press Honorable Point out All-American who served Texas win two Massive twelve normal-time titles, the 2003 Massive twelve Tournament championship and advance to the 2003 Ultimate 4

Texas Vice President and Athletics Director Chris Del Conte

The 67th Men’s Hall of Honor class features: Mike Adams (Football, 1992-93, 1995-ninety six), a 3-time All-Meeting selection who completed his job as UT’s all-time major receiver in yards (three,032), touchdowns (16) and receptions (177) and was the school’s all-objective yards leader (5,822) Clay Britt (Swimming & Diving, 1980-83), a six-time NCAA particular person and relay champion who led Texas to its initially NCAA team title in 1981 Richard Duncan (Observe & Area, 1994-97), a two-time Olympian, 1996 NCAA Outdoor extended leap champion and eight-time All-American who is the only athlete in NCAA Division I background to gain All-America honors in the extended leap, triple leap and large leap in the very same season Peter Gardere (Football, 1989-ninety two), the only quarterback in the history of the Crimson River Showdown to lead his team to victory in all four seasons and J.P. Howell (Baseball, 2003-04), a two-time All-American pitcher who led the Longhorns to a 3rd-area complete at the Higher education Environment Sequence in 2003 and a runner-up demonstrating in 2004.

The twenty second Women’s Hall of Honor class features: Jessica Livingston Gibson (Swimming & Diving, 2006-07, ’09), the 2007 NCAA particular person champion in system diving who was a 5-time All-American, four-time Massive twelve particular person champion and 3-time Massive twelve Women’s Diver of the Year Courtney Okolo (Observe & Area, 2013-16), an Olympic Gold medalist and 2016 Bowerman Award winner who was a four-time NCAA particular person champion and 16-time All-American Tobie Smith(Swimming & Diving, 1992-ninety five), the 1994 NCAA particular person champion in the 1,650-garden freestyle who was a ten-time All-American and 3-time Honorable Point out All-American Bailey Webster (Volleyball, 2009, ’11-thirteen), a 3-time initially-team All-American and NCAA Championship Most Exceptional Player who led the Longhorns to the 2012 Nationwide Championship and Nikki Busch Zigler (Volleyball, 1988-ninety one), a two-time All-American and two-time Southwest Meeting Player of the Year who served the Longhorns to the 1988 NCAA Championship.