Tokyo Olympian Lalremsiami To Lead India In Women’s Junior Hockey World Cup

Forward Lalremsiami, who was a element of the Indian senior women’s hockey team which concluded fourth at the Tokyo Olympics, will guide the country’s eighteen-member junior squad at the FIH Entire world Cup beginning in South Africa from December 5. The party will witness sixteen top rated groups from throughout the globe battle for the title which was previously received by Argentina in 2016. Even though the 21-12 months-aged Lalremsiami will captain the squad, defender Ishika Chaudhary will shoulder the responsibility of vice-captaincy.

The team also contains Salima Tete and Sharmila Devi, who were being element of the senior team at the Tokyo Olympics. Preeti and Prabhleen Kaur have been picked out as alternate players who will be permitted to contend if there is an damage or anyone in the squad is ruled out thanks to COVID-19.

“To decide the last choice of eighteen players was extremely tough primarily as all 28 players in the Core Possible Group worked extremely hard in the past months and created very good progress,” Chief Coach Females, Janneke Schopman mentioned in a launch issued by Hockey India (Hi).

“But we feel that we have picked a strong team that is ready to contend with every team at the Junior Entire world Cup. With the practical experience from the Senior team and some wonderful youthful expertise we will present the finest India has to give. The team is extremely fired up as they have waited a very long time to contend at the entire world phase and we are seeking forward to creating the most of this wonderful prospect,” Janneke included.

India’s finest overall performance in this prestigious party came in 2013 where by they received the bronze medal soon after beating England. India, who are grouped in Pool C, will get started their marketing campaign on December six towards Russia.

They will consider on defending champions Argentina on December seven in their next match in the spherical-robin league, followed by a clash towards Japan on December 9.

The knockout matches will consider place amongst December 10 and December sixteen.

The groups in the fray involve the Netherlands, Korea, Ireland, Zimbabwe in Pool A, England, Belgium, Canada and Uruguay in Pool B.


Argentina, India, Japan and Russia in Pool C even though Germany, Spain, United States and South Africa are in Pool D.

India Squad: Lalremsiami (C), Ishika Chaudhary (VC), Bichu Devi Kharibam (GK), Khushboo (GK), Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Priyanka, Marina Lalramnghaki, Ajmina Kujur, Baljeet Kaur, Reet, Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Salima Tete, Sharmila Devi, Magnificence Dungdung, Deepika, Mumtaz Khan, Sangita Kumari, Jiwan Kishori Toppo.

Topics outlined in this short article