The Sport Effect

Olympic Medal Winning Indian Hockey Stars To Join National Camp On Sunday

Members of the historic Olympic bronze medal successful Indian men’s hockey group, such as skipper Manpreet Singh and veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, will be part of the ongoing national camp in Bhubaneswar on Sunday forward of upcoming month’s Hero Asian Champions Trophy in Dhaka. The national camp now commenced on November 10 sans the associates of the bronze medal successful aspect. Manpreet and Sreejesh will be conferred with the Significant Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award on Saturday in advance of they depart for the camp.

The other gamers who will be part of the camp on Sunday are Harmanpreet Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Hardik Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Shamsher Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay and Varun Kumar who were being all conferred with the Arjuna award for their historic efficiency in Tokyo Olympics.

Vivek Sagar Prasad, who is also in New Delhi for the Arjuna award ceremony, will be part of the senior Camp soon after his campaign with the India junior group at the FIH men’s Junior Globe Cup to be held in Bhubaneswar from November 24 to December 5.

The thirty-member core probable team will camp in Bhubaneswar until December nine.

The core team also incorporates Akashdeep Singh, Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Krishan B Pathak, Suraj Karkera, Jaskaran Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Raj Kumar Pal, Gursahibjit Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Shilanand Lakra, Mandeep Mor, Ashis Kumar Topno and Suman Beck.

“It will be good to have the senior men’s group teach in Bhubaneswar as the weather here is almost similar to that of Dhaka. It will be terrific for the group to teach in these situations and get acclimatised,” main coach Graham Reid explained in a launch.

“We will also be actively playing a number of inner matches concerning the senior and the junior core probables that will surely assistance in our preparations for the Junior Globe Cup,” he explained.

“The period upcoming year will be hectic for the senior squad with back again-to-back again major global tournaments and it will be terrific to kick off the year by defending the Asian Champions Trophy,” he extra.

The Asian Champions Trophy will be held from December fourteen to 22 when defending champions India, Pakistan, Korea, Japan, Malaysia and hosts Bangladesh will vie for best honour.

Senior men’s core team:

Goalkeeper: PR Sreejesh, Krishan B Pathak, Suraj Karkera.

Defender: Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dipsan Tirkey, Mandeep Mor, Ashis Kumar Topno, Suman Beck.


Midfielder: Manpreet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Hardik Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Raj Kumar Pal.

Ahead: Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Shamsher Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Akashdeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Dilpreet Singh.

Topics mentioned in this write-up