No. 1 Men’s Swimming and Diving tops SMU, 170-115

AUSTIN, Texas — The No. one College of Texas Men’s Swimming and Diving crew posted a a hundred and seventy-a hundred and fifteen victory against SMU on Friday afternoon at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Heart. The Longhorns (2-) received fourteen of the 16 situations throughout the dual meet up with.

Prior to the meet up with, Texas recognized 9 scholar-athletes as aspect of ‘Senior Day’ ceremonies. The senior course of Luke Bowman, Alvin Jiang, Austin Katz, JohnThomas Larson, Parker Neri, Sam Pomajevich, Jake Sannem, Chris Staka and Jordan Windle have generated a person NCAA Championship, a runner-up complete at the NCAA Championship and three-consecutive Significant 12 Conference titles. They have combined to garner 31 All-The us honors, 4 honorable mention All-The us honors and 19 Significant 12 individual or relay titles.

Jordan Windle swept the one-meter and three-meter diving situations, and junior Alex Zettle received the one,000-lawn freestyle when publishing the 3rd-quickest time in the country this period (eight:forty eight.39). A few Texas seniors captured individual swimming victories on the afternoon, which includes Alvin Jiang (fifty-lawn freestyle), Austin Katz (two hundred-lawn backstroke) and JohnThomas Larson (500-lawn freestyle).

Freshman Zac Van Zandt (two hundred-lawn freestyle), junior Drew Kibler (100-lawn backstroke), freshman Carson Foster (two hundred-lawn butterfly), junior Daniel Krueger (100-lawn freestyle), junior Halvor Borgstroem (100-lawn butterfly) and sophomore Jake Foster (two hundred-lawn individual medley) included individual wins. The Longhorns also swept the two hundred-lawn medley relay and two hundred-lawn freestyle relay situations.

Satisfy Highlights

  • The Longhorns opened the meet up with by getting the top rated two spots in the two hundred-lawn medley relay. The Texas ‘A’ crew of Alvin Jiang, sophomore Caspar Corbeau, Chris Staka and junior Daniel Krueger claimed the win in a time of one:25.45.
  • UT swept the top rated 4 spots in the one,000-lawn freestyle. Junior Alex Zettle gained the victory (eight:forty eight.39) and was followed by sophomore Jake Foster (eight:54.ninety five) in 2nd. Zettle’s time marked the 3rd-quickest in the country this yr, when Foster’s hard work is the seventh-quickest in the place.
  • Freshman Zac Van Zandt captured the win in the two hundred-lawn freestyle in a time of one:37.eleven.
  • The Longhorns swept the top rated 4 locations in the 100-lawn backstroke. Junior Drew Kibler claimed victory in a time of 47.15 and was followed by sophomore Peter Larson (forty eight.sixty two), Luke Bowman (forty eight.ninety nine) and junior Braden Vines (49.46).
  • Junior Halvor Borgstroem concluded 3rd in the 100-lawn breaststroke (54.forty three), when junior Andrew Couchon positioned fourth (54.eighty one).
  • Texas claimed the top rated 4 spots in the two hundred-lawn butterfly. Freshman Carson Foster took the win (one:forty three.06) and was followed by junior Andrew Koustik (one:forty three.sixty one), Sam Pomajevich (one:forty three.eighty one) and sophomore Ethan More durable (one:45.fifty five).
  • Alvin Jiang received the fifty-lawn freestyle in a time of 19.forty eight, when Caspar Corbeau positioned 2nd (19.ninety seven).
  • Jordan Windle captured the one-meter diving title with a rating of 431.seventy nine, when freshman Noah Duperre concluded 2nd (391.35).
  • Daniel Krueger claimed victory in the 100-lawn freestyle in a time of forty three.forty two, when Chris Staka took 2nd (forty three.93).
  • Austin Katz gained the win in the two hundred-lawn backstroke (one:forty.89). This marked the eighth-quickest time in the country this period. Freshman Coby Carrozza positioned 2nd (one:45.82).
  • Carson Foster positioned 2nd in the two hundred-lawn breaststroke in a time of one:56.56.
  • Texas swept the top rated three spots in the 500-lawn freestyle. JohnThomas Larson claimed the win in a time of four:19.forty and was followed by Sam Pomajevich (four:28.74) and freshman Matthew Tannenberger (four:32.46).
  • Halvor Borgstroem claimed the win in the 100-lawn butterfly (forty eight.49), and Braden Vines positioned 2nd (forty eight.sixty four).
  • The Longhorns swept the top rated 4 spots in the three-meter diving competitors. Jordan Windle captured the title with a rating of 450.sixty eight. Sophomore Andrew Harness positioned 2nd (421.13) and was followed by Noah Duperre (420.83) and junior Andrew Gawin-Parigini (407.33).
  • Jake Foster recorded the top rated time in the two hundred-lawn individual medley (one:44.fifty), and Caspar Corbeau registered the 2nd-quickest time in the celebration (one:45.51).
  • The Texas ‘A’ quartet of Peter Larson, Coby Carrozza, Ethan More durable and Andrew Couchon swam the quickest time in the two hundred-lawn freestyle relay (one:twenty.51).

The Longhorns return to action on Feb. 19-21 (Friday-Sunday) at the Significant 12 Conference Diving Championships at the Jamail Texas Swimming Heart. UT will also serve as the host for the Significant 12 Conference Swimming Championships on Feb. 24-27 (Wednesday-Saturday).