The Sport Effect

No. 1 Men’s Swimming and Diving scores 12 wins to top TCU, 189-100

AUSTIN, Texas – No. 1 Texas Men’s Swimming and Diving collected 12 victories to win 189-100 against TCU on Friday afternoon on Senior Day at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center on day one of the two-day dual meet.

The Longhorns were paced by senior Cameron Auchinachie’s wins in the 50 free(19.74) and 100 free (43.32), junior Caspar Corbeau’s victories in the 100 breaststroke (52.77) and 200 breaststroke (1:53.50), and sophomore Noah Duperre’s double in the 1-meter (373.58) and 3-meter (408.90) springboard competitions.

Tomorrow’s competition will consist of long course time trials and a men’s and women’s platform exhibition.

All told, Texas claimed points for the top-two spots in 11 of the 14 individual events and had the top-three scores in nine.


  • Texas opened the session with a sweep of the 200 medley relay with freshman Anthony Grimm, Corbeau, senior Alvin Jiang and senior Daniel Krueger posted the fastest time of 1:25.28.
  • The Longhorns went 1-2-3 in the 1,000 free, led by freshman Luke Hobson’s time of 8:48.09, followed by David Johnston at 8:48.28 and Coby Carrozza at 8:55.73.
  • Junior Peter Larson registered a 1:34.96 to win the 200 free and Drew Kibler swam a 1:35.65 to place second.
  • Senior Jason Park took the 100 back (47.04), followed by sophomore Chris O’Connor (47.55), Jiang (47.74) and freshman Nathan Quarterman (49.17).
  • In the 100 breaststroke, Corbeau and senior Charlie Scheinfeld (53.44) claimed the top-two spots.
  • The 200 fly had four Longhorns out in front, led by sophomore Carson Foster’s mark of 1:41.79 and followed by senior Andrew Koustik (1:44.67), junior Cole Crane (1:44.70) and junior Sam Artmann (1:44.79).
  • Auchinachie and Krueger went 1-2 in both the 50 free and 100 free, with Krueger posting times of 19.92 and 43.55, respectively, while Kibler finished third in the 100 free with a time of 44.59.
  • Duperre’s double victories highlighted the springboard events. In the 1-meter springboard, sophomore Brendan McCourt finished second with 361.64 points and senior Andrew Gawin-Parigini placed third with 349.73 points. The 3-meter springboard had junior Andrew Harness finish second with 399.83 points, while Gawin-Parigini collected 378.00 points for another third-place result.
  • O’Connor won the 200 back with a time of 1:44.30, with Hobson (1:45.31), Quarterman (1:47.42) and Carman (1:49.45) claiming the two, three and four spots, respectively.
  •  Caspar was victorious in the 200 breaststroke with junior Jake Foster and senior Braden Vines finishing second and third, respectively, and junior Paul Degrado claiming fourth.

Competition will resume on Saturday at 11 a.m. with long course swim events and a men’s and women’s platform exhibition.