India’s domestic 2020-21 season: Only Ranji Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali for men?

The BCCI is mulling a truncated domestic time in 2020-21, with the men’s match starting from November 19 with the T20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and ending with the Ranji Trophy on March ten. The tentative prepare, witnessed by ESPNcricinfo, is yet to be ratified, but has no 50-overs competitions – neither Vijay Hazare Trophy nor Deodhar Trophy – in a time that also has no place for the very first-course Duleep Trophy and the Irani Cup.

Senior women’s cricket will element the two the One Working day League and the T20 League, albeit with much less video games than the 2019-twenty time, and is scheduled involving November one and April 12. Challenger Trophies throughout all types – males and girls, senior and junior – uncover no place in the proposal.

This information follows on from a board formal telling ESPNcricinfo previous week that a “priority checklist” of tournaments was becoming produced with the Ranji Trophy on leading.

As for each the proposed prepare, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be held very first, starting ten days right after the IPL, from November 19, ending on December seven. The Ranji Trophy is then scheduled to start off from December thirteen and will go on till March ten, just ahead of the scheduled 2021 IPL.

Like in the past, the buy of tournaments means that players could properly be using the Syed Mushtaq Ali match to impress the IPL franchises ahead of an auction, which in this case is scheduled to be held in December 2020 or January 2021.

A zonal system was at first becoming considered about for the Ranji Trophy, with one city from each individual zone internet hosting groups throughout four or five venues, but that structure isn’t really to be observed in the proposal. There will be five teams. The leading 24 groups of previous time will be split into teams A, B, and C, with the leading two from each individual qualifying automatically to the quarter-finals. Amongst the 3rd-positioned groups, the team with the best “quotient” will also go by way of. The eighth quarter-ultimate spot will be determined right after a playoff involving the winners of Group D, which will have up to eight groups, and Group E, which consists of the six groups from the north-east.

The bottom groups from teams A, B, and C will be relegated to Group D, with the leading 3 groups from Group D likely the other way. The bottom positioned team from Group D will go down to Group E, and the winner from Group E will compete in Group D up coming time. Teams in each individual team will play on four grounds throughout two nearby cities and each individual team will journey “at minimum the moment, at most thrice” involving venues.

In the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and the women’s T20 league, 38 groups will be divided into six teams and each individual group’s matches will be held on two grounds in one city.

A complete of 2036 video games, throughout numerous age teams in the men’s and women’s types, were played for the duration of the 2019-twenty time. In usual conditions, the time would have began in July-August and operate till all around March. That number will tumble to 1183 up coming time based on this new proposal, which is nevertheless contingent on how the pandemic predicament plays out in India.