Hockey Stalwart Ashok Kumar To Receive Mohun Bagan Lifetime Achievement Award

Ashok Kumar, a vital member of India’s 1975 Earth Cup-successful hockey team, will be conferred with the Lifetime Accomplishment Award by town football club Mohun Bagan on the celebration of its basis working day in a virtual ceremony in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. “We will history the presentation of the award and also their particular person messages which would be shared on our social media platforms,” Mohun Bagan standard secretary Srinjoy Bose stated in a assertion.

Son of hockey wizard Dhyan Chand, Kumar scored an important goal in the gold medal match for India towards Pakistan in the 1975 Earth Cup in Kuala Lumpur.

Other than the 1975 gold, the 70-year-outdated Kumar experienced also won bronze (1971) and silver (1973) medals in Earth Cups, other than a bronze medal in the 1972 Munich Olympics.

Kumar, who moved to Mohun Bagan in the late nineteen sixties and also represented Bengal just before acquiring selected in the Indian hockey team, also won 3 consecutive silver medals in the Asian Video games (1970, 1974 and 1978).

Mohun Bagan Working day is celebrated each and every year on July 29 to commemorate their IFA Defend triumph in 1911 when they experienced won the match defeating East Yorkshire Regiment 2-1, so turning into the initially Indian club to conclude the British stranglehold.

“But amid the latest circumstances, this year the club government committee has made the decision not to celebrate the Mohun Bagan Working day by organising a actual physical programme,” Bose stated.

“The awards would be introduced individually to people who are offered in Kolkata. The awardees who are unable to obtain the honour because of to their unavailability in the town would be introduced at a later on stage when items would be usual.”

The club’s footballing rights were lately acquired by the RP Sanjiv Goenka group which retains a greater part stake of eighty p.c. The new entity is termed ATK Mohun Bagan FC.

“We have only sold the football rights. The enterprise has owned the football rights only and it has bought absolutely nothing to do with our club that is Mohun Bagan Athletic Club. So there”s no query of any name transform in our awards,” Mohun Bagan”s finance secretary Debasish Dutta told PTI.

This year’s Mohun Bagan Ratna would be introduced to Gurbux Singh and Palash Nandi, the club stated in the launch.


The Awardees:

Mohun Bagan Ratna: Gurbux Singh (Hockey) and Palash Nandi (Cricket) Lifetime Accomplishment: Ashok Kumar (Hockey), Pranab Ganguly (Soccer), Monoranjan Porel (Athletics) Finest Footballer: Joseba Beitia (Senior) Finest Youth Participant: Sajal Bag (U18 team).

Matters outlined in this short article