Hockey India Nominates PR Sreejesh, Deepika For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award; Harmanpreet Singh For Arjuna Award

Veteran India goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and former women’s staff player Deepika ended up on Saturday nominated by Hockey India for this year’s prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. In addition to the duo, vice-captain of India’s Tokyo Olympics-sure men’s staff Harmanpreet Singh and women’s staff users Vandana Katariya and Navjot Kaur ended up nominated for the Arjuna awards. The countrywide federation also nominated RP Singh and Ch Sanggai Ibemhal for the Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement, even though coaches BJ Kariappa and CR Kumar ended up advised for the Dronacharya Award.

In accordance to a assertion issued by Hello, the period of time of consideration for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is involving January one, 2017 to December 31, 2020.

During that period of time, the 35-calendar year-old Sreejesh, who will be participating in in his third Olympics and in all probability very last, has performed a essential role in India’s silver medal win at the 2018 Hockey Champions Trophy in Breda, bronze medal at the 2018 Asian Online games and gold at the 2019 FIH Men’s Series Finals in Bhubaneswar.

Sreejesh has acquired the Arjuna award in 2015 and the prestigious Padma Shri recognition in 2017.

Deepika, on the other hand, was a very important element of the Indian women’s hockey staff, which gained the silver medal at the 2018 Asian Online games and at the 2018 Asian Champions Trophy.

Dragflick sensation Harmanpreet has over one hundred international caps even though Vandana has over two hundred international caps. Navjot offers of over 150 international appearences.

Speaking about the suggestions for the Nationwide Sports Awards, Hello president Gyanendro Ningombam said, “It was a pretty very pleased minute for all of us when Rani gained the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award very last calendar year and it is with great pleasure that we are recommending two of the best hockey players the nation has witnessed, PR Sreejesh and Deepika, for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award this calendar year.”

“We are also joyful to nominate Harmanpreet Singh, Vandana Katariya and Navjot Kaur for the Arjuna Awards. They have manufactured some exceptional performances for the Indian staff in the very last couple several years,” he extra.


The Nationwide Sports Awards are supplied to the country’s sportsperons by the President of India on the occasion of Nationwide Sports Working day on August 29 every calendar year to rejoice hockey legend Significant Dhyan Chand’s birthday.

All the prizes have a trophy along with a citation and dollars benefits.

Matters mentioned in this write-up